• Language:

Rassemblage at Mont Réel (Université de Montréal’s MIL Campus)

July 2017

Site: Mont Réel

Concept and performance: Mélanie Binette
Table Design: Mélanie Binette, Marie-France Daigneault-Bouchard, Nina Dubois, Constructlab.

Rassemblage was a participative installation archiving traces of the passage of guests at the Mont Réel’s picnic table. Imagined by the European collective Constructlab (Berlin), Mont Réel was a collaborative construction workshop lasting for a whole month, taking place at the former train dispatcher control in Outremont (the future site of the Université de Montréal “MIL” Campus). Constructlab’s architect, carpenter and designers had chosen this site to build a wooden structure resembling a mountain that could either act as a shelter or as a rounded outdoor auditorium, using the cityscape as its stage. Participants of different backgrounds gathered to help in building that structure, all sharing a strong interest in collaborative design, architecture, urban development and site-specific art interventions. Constructlab and the Goethe Institute therefore invited Théâtre Nulle Part to activate this site throughout the construction of the structure, by developing an art intervention that would engage with the workshop participants and the neighbouring communities in thinking creatively about this morphing stretch of land.

 

Mélanie Binette (Théâtre Nulle Part’s art director) hence conceptualized Rassemblage, an art installation around a picnic table that would gather people and trigger lively conversations about the Mont Réel project itself, as well as on urban development and social diversity, fostering encounters between strangers and inviting them to leave a trace behind. Made of a 6 feet large and 25 metres long industrial roll of fabric, a tablecloth unrolled all throughout July onto the picnic table, absorbing sauce spills, wine glasses’ stains or handwritten notes of conversations. Watercolours and natural inks were made available for painting and decorating, as well as embroidery material, so the constructors and other participants could playfully develop their thoughts. Once the whole surface of the table got covered, it would unroll over the guests’ heads; previous artworks and food stains projecting colours and forms over bodies and faces, telling the stories of previous meals whilst protecting guests from the blazing sun. The picnic table and its unrolling mechanism were co-designed with workshop participants Marie-France Daigneault-Bouchard and Nina Dubois, whose curatorial, artistic and research practices are revolving around architecture and a critical perspective on urban design.

 

The table’s design and its industrial roll were also reminders of the neighbouring areas’ former textile industry and of the labour and presence of immigrant women who shaped those neighbourhoods’ histories. Gently flying over the participants’ heads, the embroidered fabric brough a feminine touch to a traditionally male dominated area: the construction site. In partnership with Afrique au Féminin, a community organisation fostering the social integration of immigrant women, women from Park-Extension and its surroundings were invited to come and share their know-how on the tablecloth, notably women participating in Afrique au Féminin’s arts and crafts workshops.

 

Main partners: Constructlab, Goethe Institute, Consulat Général de France à Québec, Université de Montréal, Afrique au Féminin.

 

Comments are closed

• Langue:

Rassemblage au Mont Réel (Campus MIL de l’UdeM)

 

Juillet 2017

Lieu: Mont Réel

Concept et performance: Mélanie Binette
Conception de la table: Mélanie Binette, Marie-France Daigneault-Bouchard, Nina Dubois, Constructlab.

Rassemblage est une installation participative qui archive le passage des convives sur la table à pique-nique du Mont Réel. Imaginé par le collectif européen Constructlab (Berlin) le Mont Réel est un atelier de construction collaboratif déployé sur l’ancienne gare de triage Outremont (futur campus MIL de l’Université de Montréal). L’architecte, le charpentier et les designers de Constructlab ont choisi d’y construire une structure en bois rappelant le Mont Royal qui pourrait servir à la fois d’abri ou d’estrades circulaires, positionnant le paysage urbain comme un spectacle à contempler. Des participant.e.s aux parcours variés furent rassemblé.e.s afin de contribuer à la construction de cette structure, ceux/celles-ci partageant tous/tes un intérêt pour le design collaboratif, l’architecture, l’aménagement urbain et les interventions artistiques in situ. Constructlab et l’Institut Goethe de Montréal invitèrent le Théâtre Nulle Part à développer une intervention artistique qui activerait ce lieu pour toute la durée du chantier d’un mois, dans l’objectif d’engager les participant.e.s de l’atelier et les communautés avoisinantes à réfléchir de façon créative sur l’évolution de ce morceau de terrain.

 

Mélanie Binette, la directrice artistique du Théâtre Nulle Part, a alors conceptualisé Rassemblage, une installation artistique autour d’une table à pique-nique qui rassemblerait les gens et initierait des conversations animées autour du projet du Mont Réel, ainsi que sur le développement urbain et la mixité sociale, encourageant les rencontres entre inconnus et les invitant à laisser leurs traces. La longue table fut recouverte par un rouleau de tissu industriel de six pieds de large et de 25 mètres de long formant une nappe qui défila sur cette surface tout au long du mois de juillet, absorbant les éclaboussures de sauce, les taches de verres à vin et les idées littéralement notées sur un bout de table. De l’aquarelle et des encres naturelles furent mises à disposition pour peindre, ainsi que du fil à broder, afin que les constructeurs-trices et les autres participant.e.s puissent y développer leurs idées de façon ludique. Lorsque l’entière surface de la table était recouverte, le rouleau-nappe allait ensuite défiler au-dessus des têtes des convives, leurs oeuvres et les traces des repas projetant formes et couleurs sur les corps et les visages, racontant les histoires des repas qui ont précédé tout en protégeant du soleil plombant. Le design de la table ainsi que le mécanisme du déroulement de la nappe fut conçu en collaboration avec les participantes Marie-France Daigneault-Bouchard et Nina Dubois, dont les recherches académiques, les pratiques artistiques ou les pratiques de commissariat nourrissent une réflexion critique sur l’architecture et l’aménagement urbain.

 

Le design de cette table et son rouleau de tissu industriel rappellent également les manufactures de textile et le travail des ouvrières issues de l’immigration qui ont façonné l’histoire des quartiers environnants. Voletant paisiblement au dessus des têtes des participant.e.s, le tissu brodé apportait une touche féminine dans un environnement traditionnellement masculin: le chantier de construction. En partenariat avec Afrique au Féminin, un organisme communautaire oeuvrant à faciliter l’intégration sociale des femmes immigrantes, des groupes de femmes de Parc-Extension et des environs furent invitées à venir partager leur savoir-faire sur la nappe, notamment les femmes participantes aux ateliers d’artisanat d’Afrique au Féminin.

Partenaires principaux: Constructlab, Goethe Institute, Consulat Général de France à Québec, Université de Montréal, Afrique au Féminin.

Les commentaires sont fermés